

# **EL DORADO LAFCO**

550 Main Street, Suite E Placerville, California (530) 295-2707

www.edlafco.us

**MINUTES OF JANUARY 24, 2024** 

Brian Veerkamp, Chair, District Member John Clerici, Vice Chair, City Member John Hidahl, County Member George Turnboo, County Member Tamara Wallace, City Member Timothy J. White, District Member Bill Wilde, Public Member

Wendy Thomas, Alternate County Member Nicole Gotberg, Alternate City Member Michael Saunders, Alternate District Member Dawn Hodson, Alternate Public Member

Shiva Frentzen, Executive Officer Erica Sanchez, Assistant Executive Officer Malathy Subramanian, LAFCO Counsel

 Wednesday, January 24, 2024
 5:30 PM
 https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83420818260

## Board of Supervisors Meeting Room 330 Fair Lane, Building A Placerville, California

Agenda materials will be available for review pursuant to Government Code Section 54957.5 in the LAFCO office, located at 550 Main Street, Suite E, Placerville or at the LAFCO website at www.edlafco.us/commission.

## PUBLIC ACCESS

Members of the public are invited to attend and participate at the location identified on this agenda. As a courtesy, and technology permitting, members of the public may continue to provide live remote oral comment via the Zoom video conferencing platform. However, the Commission cannot guarantee that the public's access to teleconferencing technology will be uninterrupted, and technical difficulties may occur from time to time. Unless required by the Brown Act, the meeting will continue despite technical difficulties for participants using the teleconferencing (Zoom) option. Members of the public desiring to provide comments as part of the meeting are encouraged to submit written comments no later than 12:00 pm the day of the meeting or to attend the meeting in-person.

The meeting may be accessed via Zoom by the following webinar link or telephone number: <a href="https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83420818260">https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83420818260</a> or (669) 900-9128

Webinar ID: 834 2081 8260

## PUBLIC COMMENTS

Written comments may be submitted by email to <u>lafco@edlafco.us</u> and will be distributed to the Commission as quickly as possible.

Public comments will be accepted throughout the meeting. Speakers will be limited to three minutes. If you are joining the meeting via Zoom and wish to make a comment on an item, press the "raise hand" button. If you are joining the meeting by phone, press \*9 to indicate a desire to make a comment and press \*6 to unmute yourself. Please wait until the prompt from the Chair to address the Commission on any item on the Agenda.

# CALL TO ORDER

## PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

## **ROLL CALL**

Legal Counsel clarified that Commissioner Saunders would be participating remotely under the Brown Act AB 2449 for just cause reasons due to the caregiving of immediate family members and all votes would be conducted via roll call vote.

Voting members present: Commissioners Clerici, Hidahl, Turnboo, Veerkamp, Wallace, White and Wilde.

Non-voting members present: Commissioners Gotberg, Hodson and Saunders.

Commissioner Saunders clarified that there was no one present in the room with him.

## ADOPTION OF AGENDA AND APPROVAL OF THE CONSENT CALENDAR

The Commission may make any necessary additions, deletions or corrections to the agenda including moving items to or from the Consent Calendar and adopt the agenda and the Consent Calendar with one single vote. A Commissioner may request an item be removed from the Consent Calendar for discussion and separate Board action. At the appropriate time as called by the Chair, members of the public may make a comment on matters on the Consent Calendar prior to Board action.

## CONSENT CALENDAR

- A. Adopt minutes of the meeting of December 6, 2023
- B. Budget Report
- C. <u>Review of Claims</u>

## **MOTION**

A motion was made by Commissioner Wallace to adopt the Agenda and approve the Consent Calendar, seconded by Commissioner White.

## <u>ACTION</u>

The motion was approved by the following roll call vote:

AYES: 7 – Clerici, Hidahl, Turnboo, Veerkamp, Wallace, White and Wilde NOES: 0

# **OPEN FORUM**

Members of the public may address the Commission concerning matters within the jurisdiction of LAFCO which are not listed on the agenda. No action may be taken on these matters. Public comments during Open Forum are limited to three minutes per person. The Chair may limit public comment during Open Forum.

## **DISCUSSION ITEMS**

The Commission has the discretion to adopt, modify or reject staff's recommendation. Please refer to the adopted Minutes to review the Commission's final action on any item of interest.

## 1. Appointment of LAFCO Chair, Vice Chair, and Authorized Bank Signatory for 2024

#### MOTION #1

A motion was made by Commissioner Wallace to appoint Commissioner Veerkamp as Chair, seconded by Commissioner Clerici.

#### ACTION #1

The motion was approved by the following roll call vote:

AYES: 7 – Clerici, Hidahl, Turnboo, Veerkamp, Wallace, White and Wilde NOES: 0

#### **MOTION #2A**

A motion was made by Commissioner Wilde to appoint Commissioner White as Vice Chair, seconded by Commissioner White.

#### MOTION #2B

A motion was made by Commissioner Veerkamp to appoint Commissioner Wallace as Vice Chair, seconded by Commissioner Turnboo.

Commissioner White withdrew his second and Commissioner Wilde withdrew his nomination for Vice Chair in support of Motion #2B.

#### ACTION #2B

The motion was approved by the following roll call vote:

AYES: 7 – Clerici, Hidahl, Turnboo, Veerkamp, Wallace, White and Wilde NOES: 0

#### MOTION #3

A motion was made by Commissioner Wallace to appoint Commissioner Gotberg as Authorized Bank Signatory, seconded by Commissioner Hidahl.

Commissioner Wallace withdrew her motion.

The Commission directed staff to continue the appointment of the Authorized Bank Signatory to the March meeting after researching LAFCO's policies on which members can serve as the Bank Signature Authority.

## 2. Appointment of Members of the Following Committees for 2024:

Staff recommends that the Commission appoint members to the following committees for 2024:

- Budget Committee
- Strategic Planning Committee

## MOTION

A motion was made by Commissioner Wallace to keep the appointments the same for both committees and to change the Strategic Planning Committee to a standing committee, seconded by Commissioner White.

#### <u>ACTION</u>

The motion was approved by the following roll call vote:

AYES: 7 – Clerici, Hidahl, Turnboo, Veerkamp, Wallace, White and Wilde NOES: 0

# 3. <u>Presentation from Fechter & Company on the LAFCO Financial Statements for Fiscal Year</u> 2022-2023

Staff recommends that the Commission:

- 1. Receive the presentation from LAFCO's auditors, Fechter & Company;
- 2. Accept the Auditor's findings of the audited financial statements for FY 2022-2023.

# <u>MOTION</u>

A motion was made by Commissioner Hidahl to Approve this matter and direct staff to notify the funding agencies of the Management Report, seconded by Commissioner Wallace.

# <u>ACTION</u>

The motion was approved by the following roll call vote:

AYES: 7 – Clerici, Hidahl, Turnboo, Veerkamp, Wallace, White and Wilde NOES: 0

4. Receive and File the Mid-Year Budget Projection for Fiscal Year 2023-2024

The Commission received and filed the Mid-Year Budget Projection for FY23-24.

## 5. OTHER BUSINESS

- A. <u>Legislation</u> The Commission may authorize support or opposition to bills currently pending before the State Legislature
- B. <u>Executive Officer Report</u>
- C. Counsel Report
- D. Commissioner Announcements

# ADJOURNMENT

Chair Veerkamp adjourned the meeting at 6:42 pm.

The next regularly scheduled LAFCO Commission meeting will be March 27, 2024.

## APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION AUTHENTICATED AND CERTIFIED

Shiva Frentzen, Executive Officer

Brian Veerkamp, Chair