## EL DORADO LAFCO

### LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

# AGENDA OF JUNE 28, 2006 REGULAR MEETING

TO: Ted Long, Chairman, and

**Members of the El Dorado County Local Agency Formation** 

Commission

FROM: José C. Henríquez, Executive Officer

AGENDA ITEM #8: DISCUSSION OF CALAFCO-RELATED MATTERS

#### RECOMMENDATION

Staff recommends that the Commission direct staff to make the appropriate arrangements for Commissioners planning to attend the September CALAFCO Conference and submit the appropriate nominations, if any, for the CALAFCO Executive Board and 2006 CALAFCO Achievement Awards.

#### REASON FOR RECOMMENDED ACTION

The CALAFCO Conference is scheduled for September 5-7, 2006. Arrangements would need to be made fairly soon for the Commissioners planning on attending the Conference. In addition, the deadlines are approaching for submitting nominations for the CALAFCO awards and for nominations to the CALAFCO Executive Board.

#### **BACKGROUND**

The attachments contain program information on the CALAFCO Conference in San Diego. Arrangements should be made soon to ensure the timely registration and to make the appropriate accommodations for those who would like to attend. The registration rate for the Conference is \$390.00 before August 6<sup>th</sup>. There are also other fees that may apply, such as those for a mobile workshop on Tuesday morning at the optional baseball game on Tuesday night. The rate increases to \$440.00 after that date. The room rates at the Westin Horton Plaza are \$120.00 for single occupancy and \$134.00 for double occupancy. Staff calculates that airfare may be \$129.00 per person.

In addition, the Commission may choose to nominate one of its members to serve on the CALAFCO Executive Board. The deadline for Board nominations is August 6, 2006. The following positions are open:

2 Special District Members

- 2 County Members
- 2 City Members
- 2 Public Members

The following Board members are up for re-election:

Gary Lewis (County)

Kathy Long (County)

Matt Gourley (City)

Sepi Richardson (City)

Jerry Gladbach (Special District)

Mel McLaughlin (Special District)

Roger Anderson (Public)

Chris Tooker (Public)

Finally, each year CALAFCO recognizes outstanding achievements by people in the LAFCO community. Nominations for the 2006 Achievement Awards are now being accepted through July 28, 2006. Should the Commission wish to nominate an individual or organization, there are nine award categories for both individuals and organizations:

- Outstanding CALAFCO Member
- Distinguished Service Award
- Most Effective Commission
- Outstanding Commissioner
- Outstanding LAFCO Professional
- Outstanding LAFCO Clerk
- Project of the Year
- Government Leadership Award
- Legislator of the Year

Attachments: (not available online)

Attachment A: Invitational Letter from Michael Ott, Executive Officer, San Diego

LAFCO

Attachment B: 2006 CALAFCO Annual Conference General Information Form,

Registration Forms and Draft Program Schedule

Attachment C: Information on the Westin Horton Plaza Hotel in San Diego

Attachment D: CALAFCO Achievement Awards Nomination Form